Word on the Street

Last Sunday, I attended Word on the Street which moved its location from Queen’s Park to the Harbourfront. The day was gloriously sunny and the lake provided an exotic backdrop so there was excitement bubbling in the air.

For the past two Words, I have been locked in my own booth, attempting to sell my children’s book, so I didn’t get the chance to check out other booths or events. This year, not only did I have the opportunity to roam around, I also volunteered an hour to man the Canscaip booth.

Book graphic, textbook

I was joined at the booth by Bill Swan, a former president of Canscaip and a published author. We informed people about the role of Canscaip: to support established and new authors, illustrators, and performers. One gentleman who approached our booth brought along his newly published book that was written to help children learn about a particular subject. He had circulated it among teachers and had received positive reviews and wanted to drop it into our hands.

We suggested he become a friend of our organization and that way, he could stand up and reveal to everyone what his book was about and what he was interested in doing with it. Better for the author to sell his own work than a third party.

At Word, I attended a book reading by Karen Krossing, another former president of Canscaip. She talked about her newest novel, Punch Like a Girl, and the unpleasant habit in our society to name-call and stereotype. I had already read the book so I was happy to hear her philosophy behind writing the story.

Since I have been trying to publish my most recent children’s book, it has been recommended to me to try to familiarize myself with the types of writing that publishing companies accept. This way, I am not sending my work blindly to a company that would turn down the subject material.

Therefore, I’ve been buying books published by the companies where I’ve been submitting my work.

This time around, I bought Deborah Ellis’s Breadwinner trilogy, published by House of Anansi Press.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Literacy, Publishing, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

