Last Night I Needed to Dream

Yesterday, I was going through some poetry of mine. I came across a poem I had written five years ago when I was experiencing some health concerns. Thought it was better than most poems I attempt to write. To me, writing poetry is harder than writing anything else. Anyway, have a look:

Last Night I Dreamt Because I Needed to Dream


Last night, I dreamt
Because I needed to dream;
Forced out night and its tireless crusade
To pin me to my bed, hostage.

Youth was a time to dream
And nightfall was a comfort;
A place to stow away
Beautiful things of tomorrow.

But now, alone, I keep the light nearby.
I clutch its bright persistence;
Its artificial company.
Once, alone was comfort.
Now, when edges grow dim with dusk,
I bemoan alone.

Last night, I dreamt
Because I needed to dream.
Morning once came too soon.
Now, it’s like the slow, tortuous descent
Of a drowning man.

To me, the worst thought is to die alone, and not have the body discovered for many days.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Getting Older, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

