Haven’t Quite Figured Out Kids Yet

 

Kids are a fascinating study.

I would have thought that by now, being a substitute teacher who goes into all kinds of classrooms, I would have figured them out.

In my last blog, I wrote a discouraging account of a grade 4 class in which the kids seemed blasé about stickers as rewards. Most of the kids were feisty and not too concerned about classroom rules. When one student called another one stupid, I took a teachable moment to talk about how we’re all smart at doing something. I then proceeded to ask various students what they were smart at.

One replied, “I’m smart at kickin’ butt.”

Teacher with Students

Uh, the joys of choosing wrestlers as role models.

Yet, I taught another grade 4 class this past week and the kids were joyful, kind to each other, and welcomed the possibility of receiving stickers.

There had recently been a big snowfall in the city and when I took them outside, they played happily with classmates, rolling in the snow, laughing, not caring about getting wet.

Nice to see at this time of year.

So although my career is in teaching, I guess I can say I haven’t quite figured out kids.

To most teachers, grades 6-8 are the toughest to supervise, as students are going through puberty. Yet, I’ve seen some extremely polite classes in this age range.

And, as I have already indicated, I’ve witnessed some very turbulent students in the junior grades.

So when I go into schools for the first time, I never know what to expect.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

