Return to San Miguel

In 11 days, I will be returning to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico. People wonder why I am visiting Mexico in July when the heat can become oppressive.

I usually visit the place in March; however, this year, I was too busy. In the past, I’ve gone for a week. I will be going for three weeks this time, making up for my long absence from a place I cherish. The hot weather will not bother me.

I am now visualizing San Miguel, an art colony with cobblestone streets. This is my first journey there since I self-published The Monarchs, a novel about a retired couple who seek refuge in San Miguel every year. The husband has cancer and SM provides him with some therapy to an otherwise difficult life. I will be taking along some of my books, one of which I will donate to the library which has one of the largest collections of Spanish and English books in the Americas.

IMG

I will give the remainder of the books as gifts to locals there: people I have come to know due to my numerous visits.

The front cover of the novel was designed by my niece who has more of an artistic eye than I do. I asked her to draw a picture of the town’s parish church, La Parroquia. The married couple are standing in front of it, blissfully happy, trying to ignore those obstacles in one’s life. Soon, I will be standing where my characters are standing.

The expression, truth is stranger than fiction, applies here.

San Miguel, I cannot wait.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Love and Commitment, Publishing, Travelling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Return to San Miguel

Leave a Reply

