Fighting Prostate Cancer

I am fortunate enough not to have had prostate cancer though I always make sure I am tested for it. I know that, for men, it is often seen as the equivalent of breast cancer for women.

Unfortunately, it seems to be as common as the occurrence of breast cancer and we all know someone close to us who has had it. In my case, it was my father. I’m glad to say that today, he is very much healthy.

In my new novel, The Monarchs, one of the main characters, Robert, suffers from the affliction. I based Robert’s experiences on those of a good friend of mine who also had the disease.
man in hospital bed

Interestingly, when I first sought to publish my novel, my publishing company suggested I list it in the category of medical fiction. There are a number of episodes that take place in hospitals and a heavy use of medical jargon.

However, my intention is not for my readers to focus so much on the medical procedures in the book. I want my readers to see the commitment the man and his wife have towards each other, their desperation in battling the disease, and the dignity that they both seek amid the painful and often embarrassing incidents that they go through together.

I want my readers, whether they have had prostate cancer or not, to get a real sense of how devastating the disease can be. I also hope that those with prostate cancer have someone as support to help them overcome the disease.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Love and Commitment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

