Selling Books at Word on the Street

Toronto had its annual Word on the Street festival yesterday, a gathering of booksellers, publishing companies, and entertainers. Every genre is represented and there is a Kid Street where my booth was located.

Despite the cold, damp weather, the sky rarely punctured by sunlight, many people attended. The diehard book-lovers, I would guess. If I hadn’t had my own booth, I still would have come.

Beside me were a husband and wife selling books from their company, Why Not? Books. Across from me were two other self-published authors: a young woman selling her children’s picture book on how we look at our bodies and Peter Gross, selling his children’s book, The Boy Who Turned Into a Cat.

This was my first attempt at selling my young adult fantasy novel, More Precious Than Rubies: The Return of the Norse Gods at Word on the Street and even though I only sold nine copies in seven hours, I enjoyed the day. A number of people were still interested in discussing the book and many took away my freebies, consisting of bookmarks and postcards.
006

One could write an intriguing book on the adventures one has trying to sell his book. I have had some interesting conversations with people.

Early in the day at WOTS, one slightly dishevelled man asked me what my book was about. I told him the story line briefly: children in a grade seven class are in conflict with their principal, a reincarnation of the evil Norse god, Thiassi, and they must think of a way to overcome his quest for power.

The man was very bitter. He started blasting people in general for corrupting the world. They were the reason the ice-caps were melting in the Arctic. They were the reason that crops were becoming scarce and the poor were dying of hunger.

He didn’t make a direct connection between my book and his diatribe but I took the hint.

“Nobody is listening,” he said.

“I’m listening,” I said sincerely.

After he left, I turned to the couple at Why Not? Books and said, “It’s a good thing he didn’t see that you were selling Fartboy.”

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Mythology, Publishing, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

