The Monarchs

This past year, my blogs have focused on subjects related to themes in my children’s novel. Therefore, a lot have depicted my views on teaching children and the many habits of children.

My next novel, not meant for children, is entitled The Monarchs and is due to come out by the beginning of fall.

Mexico is my favourite country to visit and my novel revolves around my experiences there. It is a work of fiction that follows the lives of two retired teachers, husband and wife, who must face the challenges of the man’s bout with cancer. Their journeys to Mexico often correspond with the annual migration of monarch butterflies to Mexico.
IMG_3358

What I hope I have achieved in the novel is not only to show the commitment the two people have for each other but also to show the cultural underpinnings of Mexico and the couple’s respect for them.

This book was my first real attempt at writing a novel and truly showed me the real work that is infused into creating a piece of literature. The writing process taught me the value of getting peoples’ feedback and the art and necessity of revision.

Like the monarchs, I make an annual pilgrimage to Mexico and so I am certain I will continue picking up knowledge about the country’s culture. My revisions of the novel may be never-ending.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

