The Predominance of iPhones

Funny how one cannot escape social media these days.

I am immersed in using the powers of them right now so maybe it is unwise for me to complain about people being obsessed with iPhones.

I have never texted; probably never will. It pains me to see people feverishly striking tiny buttons to send messages or to see that glint in their eyes as they read messages sent back to them. And who are these people communicating with at 7:00 in the morning?

I suppose if you have a loved one on the other side of the world, texting at all hours makes sense. But, for most people, I very much doubt that this is the case. Which brings me to the sad conclusion that people are desperate for communication, unlike me who can spend a whole weekend not saying a word to a single soul.
untitled

I sometimes wonder if people are more anti-social than they think. I read an article that pointed out that teens admit that they enjoy texting their friends more than actually talking to them. They might as well be robots.

As a teacher in a middle school, I see the prevalence of iPhones and I become nauseous. I went into a classroom the other day to substitute for another teacher and half the students had their phones out, looking at idiotic cartoons and youtube videos. They told me that their teacher allows them to use their phones on free days.

What did I think?: How can I enforce the rule of no phones in school when other teachers have no problem with them and, in fact, have been known to use them themselves?

My conclusion: teachers see that they are fighting a losing battle and are giving in.

Last Monday, I took a student’s phone and said I’d give it back to him at the end of the period. I placed it on a table, which is usually not my procedure. I often let the student drop it into my knapsack and take it out later. I don’t even like to touch them in case I am accused of breaking them.

The phone was stolen and the student, one of my most difficult to teach, was livid. After calling me an idiot, he now feels that I should buy him a new phone.

Is this where our technological world is headed?

Have we let our precious phones make us into status symbols?

Is this what we call progress?

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Literacy, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

