The Pressure and Predictability of Jobs

Recently, I watched a video featuring the model, Cameron Russell, as she talked to an audience about peoples’ obsessions with body image.

We often assume that all models are happy because they are beautiful, make a lot of money, and lead glamorous lifestyles.

Cameron’s message was that this kind of belief is often misleading. In fact, she stressed the point that “I am insecure because I have to think about what I look like every day.” She seemed sincere enough when she said this and even suggested that members of the audience would likely be “sceptical” about what she was saying.

I have never been an advocate of modelling but I am not insensitive to the fact that we sometimes assume everyone who appears happy in their job is really happy. Contrary to this, people often take on roles and act their parts well despite their underlying disillusionments.

Where does this pressure to do jobs that cause us stress come from?
frustrated worker

When I began my profession as a teacher, I was excited about instructing students, knowing that I was changing their lives in a positive way. Now, I trudge into work with half the energy and half the enthusiasm that I used to have. Students seem to be drained of creativity any more and their lack of courtesy towards each other and towards adult role models is prevalent.

Yet I continue to do my job. Why? Money is admittedly a part of that; however, teaching is the best work that I can do and the best work that I’ll ever be capable of doing.

There was some controversy last year about enforcers in the National Hockey League resorting to drug and alcohol abuse and some even committing suicide. They were getting paid thousands of dollars for fighting but many talked of their dissatisfaction in their jobs and the demands put upon them as tough guys.

To hockey fans, they always looked as if they were not bothered by their roles on the ice. Apparently, they are.

There are those who say they love their jobs and they make me envious. But it seems that most of us are tired of the work routine, performing jobs that have become mundane, pressured by the quest for prestige and a comfortable retirement.

When I look back upon my happiest job experience, I was 17-years-old, working a 6-day week and making a piddling amount of money at a summer camp. But, everyday, I woke up excited to confront the day.

How ironic.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

