Getting Exposure for Your Self-Published Book

For years, I tried to get my writing published.  Anything – poetry, essays, short stories, novels.  No luck.  I entered numerous contests and success still dodged me.

Finally, I saved some money and had my children’s fantasy novel, More Precious Than Rubies:  The Return of the Norse Gods self-published.

Randy Coates book cover

Everything went well and I enjoyed the experience, seeing my hard work in book format with an eye-catching cover.  I now had a published novel with an official ISBN number.

But there were limitations.  One was that, as a self-published book, it could not be sold in bookstores because it lacked a distributor.  So the question was, how was I to sell it or even to get people to notice it?

Social media has helped and this blog is a great example of that kind of exposure.

But I also started getting creative.

I bought 50 copies of my own book because I had a book launch at a major retail bookstore where I sat for a day at a table in the Children’s Book section.  I sold 10 copies which was a beginning but what to do with the other 40 copies?

I took copies to my doctor, my dentist, and my optometrist and asked if I could leave the books scattered among their reading materials in the waiting rooms.

As a substitute teacher who travels from school to school in a large city in Canada, I have left books in classroom libraries.

I have even chosen to be sneaky:  casually leaving books on public transit as if they were forgotten by absent-minded travellers.

We all have our ways of drawing attention to our writing.  Who is reading my book out there really does not matter.  It is simply that they are reading it.

I will be on holidays soon and so my next blog will come out in two weeks.  See you then.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Publishing, Teaching, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

