The Gift of Writing, the Gift of Reading

Eight months have passed since I self-published my children’s fantasy novel, More Precious Than Rubies, and only four months have passed since I became involved with social media and signed up with twitter.
But, already, I have witnessed the benefits of social media.

It was first suggested to me that social media was “where it was at” in regards to promoting books and so my initial desire was to establish myself as an author and invite others to see who I was as a writer.

Social media, such as twitter, have opened up so much more for me than my own, some may say, selfish pursuits.

What have I seen through social media?
writer

There is a whole universe of writers out there who have gone through the same hardships as I have: writer’s block, rejection, envy of other peoples’ writing. But they have also gone through the uplifting experiences, too: completing stories, poems, novels, and then educating others via their words.

There are so many more authors than I suspected. Writers of every style, writers of every genre. I used to see these people as my competitors. I now see them as my kinsmen and my kinswomen. I no longer envy their success, I see it as my own: we are all writers and we are all striving to make others happy or more comfortable with their lives.

I have come across writers who have been at the bottom of despair and whose writing has helped them climb out of that pit. I have also read the words of authors who want simply to make children laugh and to develop a love for the gift of words.

I am a teacher and I know that we writers must continue our work. It is a pleasure to walk into a classroom and to see a student with his/her “nose in a book,” so wrapped up in the content that, for them, for just a little bit of time, the rest of the world has stopped.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Teaching, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

