Are Children Still Interested in Reading?

This blog is falling on a Monday, the weekday I have chosen as my blog release. By coincidence, this is also the last day of 2012.

The end of one year or the beginning of the next is often the time when one reflects on the past or makes resolutions for the future. One also contemplates about what will transpire in the new year: what world events will affect one’s life, for example.

I do a lot of contemplating and one of the concerns that has cluttered my mind as of late is how reading is evolving. Since I teach, I am a front-row spectator of children’s reading habits and so I often wonder, from my observations, if reading among children is as popular now as it was ten, twenty years ago.

I believe the answer is yes.

The only spin on children’s reading (and, for that matter, adults’ reading) is that they read differently.

Anyone can probably guess that my focus here is electronic reading. With the advent of e-readers, smartphones, and other devices, children are not only attracted to the clear font on the screen, they also have access to thousands of books that they either never had access to before or that were inconvenient to get to in a library or store.

imagesCA1S3YQJ

Personally, I still like to hold a book made of paper in my hands. I still love to collect books. My library will attest to this. Yet the fact that I write a blog, have a facebook fan page, and interact with fellow authors via twitter means that I, too, value our electronic age.

The point here is that e-reading is here to stay.

I walked into a grade 8 classroom where I was substitute teaching one day, and the students’ teacher had assigned some independent, quiet reading at one point in the day. Many of the students chose to read from e-readers.

My argument is that as long as they are reading and as long as they have access to reading material, then let them read however they want.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Literacy, Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

