Teaching Reading and Writing to Young Students

Throughout my substitute teaching experiences, I have faced students of all ages, kindergarten to grade 12, and I have taught, or at least, attempted to teach, almost every subject.

English literature was my major in university and so one should not be surprised to discover that Language Arts is the subject I most enjoy teaching. However, as any teacher will admit, reading is essential to all subjects. The thing that makes me saddest in the classroom occurs when a student tells me he/she does not want to read. Or, perish the thought, does not like to read.

As a writer, one goal I have is to inspire people, notably young people, to read and also to write creatively. When I wrote More Precious Than Rubies, I focused on children aged 9-12 as my audience. This is the age group I enjoy teaching the most, too.

Children aged 9-12 seem to be reaching out through their school work to be imaginative and passionate about their ideas. They are just beyond that awkward stage of trying to formulate sentences in their writing and they haven’t quite blossomed fully into that pubescent stage where they are self-conscious of what they believe.

I’m not saying that pubescent students cannot be creative. They certainly are. We have all witnessed their spontaneity. They just bottle it up a little more than they did when they were younger.

I suppose this is why I chose children aged 9-12 for my reading audience.

About randycoates

Randy Coates graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of arts degree and went on to acquire his teacher’s certificate at the University of Western Ontario. He is currently an elementary teacher in the Toronto District Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

